Is lactic acid vegan?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

What is lactic acid? 

Lactic acid is a substance that bacteria produce during fermentation.

Lactobacillus and Streptococcus cultures produce lactic acid. Foods such as pickled vegetables, jams, frozen desserts, baked goods, and most dairy products all contain lactic acid.

When manufacturers add lactic acid to the foods, the role is to act as a pH regulator and food preservative.

When is lactic acid not vegan? 

If the lactic acid derives directly from fermented dairy products or meat is not vegan, but mos will not be eating these foods anyway.

Fortunately, most of the added lactic acid in the food industry comes from beet sugar or corn starch fermentation. Therefore, the products containing lactic acid are vegan.

However one should take into consideration that certain types of added lactic acid may originate from the byproducts of animals. For example, some lactic acid may come from bacteria feeding on lactose ( a sugar found in dairy products).

However, once the lactic acid is in its final form the chemical structure is identical regardless of the original source of the carbohydrate. There will be no remnants of the animal product in it.

Manufacturers do not need to disclose the lactic acid source for their products, so unless it has the Logo, the consumer needs to contact a company directly to find out whether it is vegan.

lactic acid production 

Many manufacturers use corn starch or beet sugar to produce lactic acid.

The process of creating lactic acid involves bacteria breaking down carbohydrates for energy, which is known as fermentation. During fermentation, the bacteria feed on glucose (sugar) for energy and produce lactic acid as a byproduct.

The bacteria that manufacturers may use to create lactic acid include:

  • Lactobacillus
  • Streptococcus
  • Enterococcus
  • Lactococcus
  • Bifidobacterium

What foods contain lactic acid? 

Many foods in grocery stores contain lactic acid.

Some of these include:

  • Sourdough bread
  • Jars of pickled vegetables
  • Sauerkraut

People can also ferment their own foods at home if they want to consume lactic acid bacteria.

Some suitable vegetables include:

  • Broccoli
  • Beets
  • Eggplant
  • Turnips
  • Cucumbers

How to know whether the source of lactic acid is vegan?

The Vegetarian Resource Group state that most lactic acid is from sources.

Share with friends:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Beyond Meat Expanding Across Europe
Beyond Meat Moving To Vegan Headquarters
Germany Sees A decrease in Meat Production Drop As Demand For Plant-Based Goes High
The 5 Healthiest Cooking Oils for Vegan Diets
Ruby Rose (Batwoman) Urges Her Followers To Watch Seaspiracy
YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE
Subway To Release Vegan Chicken Sub For Veganuary
International sandwich chain Subway will be adding a new vegan chicken product to its menu...
Beyond’s Meatless Chicken Arrives at KFC
For the last couple of weeks, the world of vegan food news is getting exciting from the previous...
Germany’s Commitments For 2022: Animal Welfare Labels On Meat And Plant-Based Push
This 2022 is the new German government’s first in power, and with its arrival a lot of animal...
Ben & Jerry’s Releases Its 20th Vegan Flavor. Somebody Said Bananas?
Ice cream company Ben & Jerry’s started in 2022  and they are going bananas. Not one,...
Babybel Released Vegan Mini Cheese Wheels, And Aldi Releases Its First Dairy-Free Cheese Series
Vegan cheese is trending in the UK right now, as two major brands step into the sector for...
Chocolate & Matcha Power Bars
Sprinkled with intense dark chocolate and filled with crunchy cacao nibs, a creamy cashew base,...